Waikato University Emeritus Professors and ZyGEM Founders Earn Distinction

Emeritus Professor Hugh Morgan
Waikato Universtiy

Two new species of thermophilic cellulolytic bacteria have been named for Waikato University Emeritus Professors Hugh Morgan and Roy Daniel. The researchers isolated the two new species while researching microorganisms that live in extreme environments such as the Ross Sea and McMurdo Dry Valleys of the Antarctica. Their discoveries led to the creation of ZyGEM’s culture collection, a proprietary portfolio of extremophile organisms including thermophilic bacteria, archaea and fungal samples

Emeritus Professor Roy Daniels
Waikato University

The two new species have been named Caldicellulosiruptor morganii and Caldicellulosiruptor danielli by Professor Robert Kelly’s research group in the department of chemical and biomolecular engineering at North Carolina State University.

Find out more about these organisms here.

Read the University of Waikato’s tribute to Professors Morgan and Daniel here.


Sign up for occasional product updates and news from MicroGEM International